Get Audio+
Scan to download the app


16-Year K-Pop Veterans SuJu Prove The Power of Experience With Majestic Comeback & Album

today17 March 2021


Second generation K-Pop idols – and Kings, really – Super Junior are back with their 10th studio album after much delay (member Heechul confessed that it was because they had to rearrange their title track a few times before agreeing on the final product). Initially set to be released in December last year, and then January this year before finally settling on March, the nine-member group has finally introduced “The Renaissance” and the music video for their title track, ‘House Party’.


“As much as this is our 10th album, the first ‘two-digit’ album, we wanted to use this as a turning point to really show a new era of Super Junior and what we’re about.”


And they seem to do just that in ‘House Party’ and the accompanying music video. The song plays with genre switching – starting with a disco-funk/pop sound, adding a trap breakdown in the middle and ending with the same upbeat, pop vibe. The boys sing about having a good time, even with COVID-19 restrictions as they sing:


“Let’s put aside our feelings of wanting to be together for a while / This is my house party / Yeah, according to the newly created rules / Great manners to protect each other,”



The group, having debuted way back in 2005, gained international fame with their  2009 hit ‘Sorry Sorry’. Initially consisting of 13 members, at present, the active members – Leeteuk, Heechul, Yesung, Shindong, Eunhyuk, Donghae, Siwon, Ryeowook, and Kyuhyun – number on nine. During their online press conference, group leader Leetuk shared of the album concept:


“The dictionary definition of ‘Renaissance’ is the revival or reincarnation of art and literature. It’s resurrecting the classics and showing a new kind of movement. With this album, we’re going to greet you with a revival of Super Junior. We decided on the album title of ‘The Renaissance’ with the purpose of showing you Super Junior’s music.”


The album contains 10 tracks, including their 15-year anniversary single ‘The Melody’ as well as a remake of their 2014 track ‘Raining Spell for Love’ (originally featured in ‘Mamacita’) and other pre-release tracks like ‘Burn the Floor’ and ‘Tell Me Baby’.


Source: Instagram / @superjunior



*Cover image credit: @superjunior

Written by: Marissa Anne

Previous post

Post comments (0)

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *